Staying cool

Having spent much of my adult life camping or living in desert conditions, my idea of staying cool is pretty much sitting in the shade  drinking a cold beer. For traveling coolness, I keep a spray bottle in my car (no AC in my old car). That’s about as high tech as I get when it comes to temperature comfort.

We did end up with an old truck we use for road trips that just happens to have AC. VERY nice. I can remember one summer in Nevada when my hair was permanently windblown from driving back and forth across the state with all of my windows down (you have to turn your tape deck way up too).

So I certainly have some interest when I see all of these Burning Man conversations about ways to stay cool. Most of them involve some type of AC, be it regular, swamp cooler, or some home-built cooler. I see lots of talk about misting systems too. The misting talks spurred me to add my garden sprayer to my packing list. I can wet down my shade cloth with that.

As for the AC setups, maybe one of these days I’ll finally have that little camper to take to BRC and then I’ll really be interested in the possibility of AC. Until then, I’ve got my shade, my garden sprayer, my assortment of spray bottles, my cold beer, and my deep appreciation of shade.

2012-10-30_14;44;38

25968811_640

1314196542-design-by-many-award-2-528x373

3932170278_012dfd7b8f_o

desert-cloud

DSCN1755

image002

lagi-FERN_2 copy

P1140459

salvation_mountain04_resized

shade-of-a-dragon-s-blood-tree_595

2742286267_4cc2c84ecb_z

KoolerAire_Cooler

swamp

1002106_15006CP_A_400

misting-ezup

portableFeatureMain

Shade house emitter

Leave a Reply

