Volunteer

Part of what makes Black Rock City such a great place is that there are so many people volunteering for various duties around the city.  I just got accepted to volunteer for a couple of shifts at the Black Rock Bakery in the French Quarter. I’m pretty excited about it. I used to be a professional baker and cake decorator, so I thought I would try to use the talents I have. It should be fun. If we mesh well, it could turn into a regular volunteer thing during the years I make it to Burning Man. And since I never made it to the French Quarter my first year in the city, it was already at the top of my list of places to go and experience. Now I for sure won’t miss it. Woohoo!

beignets

7 thoughts on “Volunteer

  1. That picture is making me so hungry looking at it. It is so great that you taking time out of your day to volunteer. Thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, nothing like a beignet to make you drool. I’m glad I found a volunteer opportunity that fits my talents. I want to contribute to the city.

      • That is great 🙂 I hope to volunteer soon and help make a difference. If you ever want to read some funny and inspirational stories, you are more than welcome to come by my blog and have a Cup of Joe.

      • I popped over to your blog and browsed. Very nice. I don’t see too many young people with the gift of introspection and a willingness to share internal experiences. It will serve you well over the years. My first blog was an online journal much like yours. For somebody like me who was never able to keep a diary or personal journal, the online public version was surprisingly theraputic. My first blog is on my list of links (Walkaboutstory). Are you going to Burning Man this year?

      • Well come on out to our side of the country one of these days. I was already 55 when I went to my first Burning Man and got hooked. I’ve never been a festival goer so it was quite an experience. This is only my second burn this year, but I plan to do it at least every other year until I die.

Leave a Reply

